Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed by many that students should focus solely on academic knowledge for passing exams, not on practical skills like cooking and dressing. While I agree that students should be taught scholarly knowledge to succeed in exams, I believe that students should learn soft skills such as cooking or dressing.

On the one hand, the option to teach students academic knowledge to achieve exam success is beneficial to some extent. Firstly, theoretical knowledge provides a foundation of knowledge and skills that are often tested in various academic assessments and competitions. For example, having a strong academic knowledge equips students with a well-educated background to perform well in standardized exams like the SAT, ACT,…. Secondly, not only does scholarly knowledge help students achieve high results in exams but also enhance their career prospects. If someone aspires to become a successful doctor or lawyer, a strong academic setting will be a comparative advantage.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that students should be trained in cooking or dressing skills for some reasons. Cooking boosts the students’ responsibility, organization and creativity as it teaches them the crucial of planning, following instructions, and working with precision. When students cook with others, it promotes teamwork, cooperation, and effective communication, therefore, they can pass their team tests in school. Besides, dressing creates a positive first impression, fosters self-confidence, and enhances professional success which are essential if students want to move up in life. In addition, dressing could express your personality, so when you wear unique clothes, it can attract attention and make you stand out.

Although teaching students academic knowledge to pass exams presents certain advantages, I contend that they should be educated in social skills. It is advisable that students should study both of these skills for success in school, business, and life.