Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the rapid growth of technology, some people believe that so-called online reading is better than offline reading, while others argue that libraries are still essential to our education. I strongly disagree with the first view, as I believe libraries have many more benefits not only for us but also for our country’s educational development.

Firstly, there are many advantages of online books, such as reading anywhere and anytime or avoiding spending money on buying books. There are many websites where we can read books even in remote places because we can easily download the part of a book that we want to read during a holiday or a short break. For example, when we visit our grandparents, it is not necessary to buy a book to read in the village; instead, we can save money and download the PDF version. As a result, we can not only save money but also read books whenever we want.

On the other hand, e-books are replacing our traditional libraries, the places where we read books for free. Everyone knows about the side effects of e-books, which can negatively affect our future careers. The biggest drawback is damage to eyesight, which is less likely when reading physical books borrowed from libraries. Moreover, libraries allow people to borrow books for a month or two, which can also save money. In addition, there are people who cannot afford to buy a phone, and libraries promote their self-improvement by providing free access to educational resources.

In conclusion, although e-books are really helpful in emergency situations, libraries have many more benefits for citizens because they allow us to read information in a supportive environment and encourage us to continue learning.