Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

As access to information on the internet gets ubiquitous, pupils have utilized it to seek knowledge which supplants libraries. From my perspective, although accessing data online is more convenient, it is my contention that libraries are still essential for students to develop.

On the one hand, information can be simply obtained on the Internet. Due to the proliferation of sources online, knowledge can be acquired from various backgrounds. Online platforms like newspapers, social media, and data sources are rapidly emerging which enable pupils to access knowledge in spite of their geographical distance. Furthermore, courses online offer numerous disciplines which allow students to flexibly learn at their own pace and convenience. For instance, Wikipedia, an online website has enabled learners to access various types of information through the internet despite their location disparity.

On the contrary, the library plays a crucial part in students development. First and foremost, libraries are fundamental in teaching the methodologies and tools necessary for conducting effective research. Due to the vast amount of books in the library, it is vital for scholars to select suitable information for their assignments which enables them to cultivate their seeking for knowledge skills. Secondly, engaging in reading can increase the attention span of the individual. When pupils engage in reading, they are required to concentrate and their immersion which fosters a stronger attention span.

In brief, although the Internet allows students to access information effortlessly, I strongly believe the library plays an essential part in students’ development. Therefore, I advocate for pupils to engage in reading at the library.