Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view that almost all people who commit crimes have a limited educational background. In order to minimize this prevalent problem, people propose to provide education to criminals during their punishment duration so that they can find jobs more easily. In my opinion, this solution is useful to some point, yet it is not the best effective one.

Admittedly, education plays an essential part in diminishing the rate of crime. Criminals will be provided education and vocational training as well as rehabilitation programmes with the aim to help them understand the consequences of criminal and the value of knowledge. Thanks to it, we can reduce the rate of people being offenders. However, this solution is not always suitable for every lawbreaker. For instance, some are not willing to adapt knowledge to improve themselves as well as widen their horizons by anyway. Consequently, the criminal rate cannot decrease significantly.

On the other hand, there are some other ways that could decline the rate of criminals. To convince with, the government should provide more strict punishments. For example, if offenders do not obey the established rules, they could be disciplined by their keepers with modest chastisement. This might help them to be responsible for their behaviors and no more recidivism. Furthermore, social events and sport activities are needed to be applied for criminals in prison. When joining in these useful activities, criminals can have the positive outlook of society and even live healthier to contribute to the community. Not only that they are also more accountable and less likely to re-offend.

In conclusion, although I agree that supplying education is effective to a certain extent, it is my firm belief that it is not the optimal method, and there are more efficient measures such as offering severe punishment or holding valuable events.