Success is often measured by wealth and material belongings in modern times. Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What, in your opinion, makes a person successful in life?

In today’s materialistic world, people often perceive wealth as a synonym of success, which generates a debate about which factors makes a person successful. In this essay, I will explore the different perspectives regarding having a successful life and I will lean towards the view of being professionally accomplished.

Some people asserts that richness is a crucial factor to achieve greatness in life. Proponents of this view argue that being economically affluent does not bring happiness, but it definitely helps, as individuals can afford significant commodities that brings them joy. This view can be correlated with professional success, since businessmen with highly paid jobs have incomes that allows them to purchase personal belongings such as cars, nice accommodations, unique leisure activities, as well as travelling opportunities. On the other hand, critics argue that money is not as substantial and satisfactory as achieving success through personal life. Furthermore, they defend that the feeling of personal satisfaction can only be attained by having meaningful social interactions and family goals.

Personally, I hold the view of success being a mixture of factors, with their equal contribution being critical for a happy life-style. Therefore, economic independence and social connections are vital for making a person satisfied, otherwise, they would feel empty and meaningless without the other. For example, an individual may be wealthy enough, but if they cannot share it with anyone, this would lead to depression and mental issues. On the contrary, families lacking proper income will struggle economically and face with anxiety and stress problems for not being able to support their household.

To conclude, opinions on success diverge depending on the person and their values, being professional and personal life the major factors considered. In addition, I believe that in most cases, individuals will need to have a work-life balance to reach personal fulfilment.