Sugary drinks should be made more expencive to encourage people to consume less sugar do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people think if the government increases the prices of processed food and sugary beverages, it will help to reduce the consumption of sugar. I strongly agree with this statement but, it still comes with drawbacks.

Recently, these sugary food and beverages are easily accessible to everyone and due to peoples work routine they prefer these ready-made things including sugar in it. In that case, making them more expensive will easily decrease the amount of people buying it. This was once implemented for those, who was indulge in the alchohol and tobacco and saw a visible decline in the ratio. Additionally, it also affects the health problems, increases the risk of heart diseases, diabetes, obesity and cholesterol. For instance, study shows that more than 40% of diabetic patients attribute their illness to the consumption of unhealthy food having sugar in it.

Although, rise in the price comes with some disadvantages, which should not be neglected. People who belong to less affluent families depend on these cheaper sugary food items. If government take direct steps to increase the amount, it will have a negative effect on those individuals. In such case, heathy alternatives should be available at reasonable prices to encourage everyone to achieve a healthy lifestyle.

In conclusion, it is important for every individual to cut down these processed items and to be able to live a healthier life. However, the price increasing policy should be implemented in effective way of providing healthy options with lower prices to make it easier for low-income households.