Sugary drinks should be made more expencive to encourage people to consume less sugar do you agree or disagree?

Drinks containing high amount of sugar ought to be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar and adopt a healthy lifestyle. I completely agree with this idea because of the detrimental effects these drinks are causing on the health of people around the world.

Sugary drinks are predominantly common all around the globe. Previously, these drinks used to be preferred by the youngsters, but nowadays almost all the age groups are consuming it in a large quantity. The primary reason behind it is the cheap price and easy accessibility of such drinks. Due to low price, people have been consuming high sugary drinks instead of other healthy drinks. Furthermore, different types of branding and advertisement schemes have also raised the sales of such products. Therefore, it is essential to understand that hiking the price of such products can encourage the people to choose better drinks and follow a better lifestyle.

It is worth noting that low price of sugary drinks has raised their popularity and sales. Consequently, large amount of sugar intake has been raising serious health concerns around the world. To illustrate, countries like India and Mexico make such drinks available at very low price because of which large proportion of the population are attracted to them and consume without realizing the consequences. This practice in those countries has caused significant health related issues like sugar, diabetes, heart problems, mental health problems, and so on. To make things worse, even young people have started to suffer from it.

To conclude, I strongly agree with the view that sugary drinks should be made more expensive so that people could live a healthy and happy life without suffering from any diseases caused by such practice.