Taking risks in both professional and personal life is important. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Taking risks undoubtedly changes a person’s life. Nevertheless, such changes are not always for better; in fact, taking risks has drawbacks as well as benefits.

Undoubtedly, taking risks can be outrageously rewarding. One key advantage is that people who take risks learn how to accurately overcome major challenges and they become fearless. Taking risks helps people to find their own place and take control of their life. In the end, people who take risks often achieve their goals. Another compelling reason is taking risks has financial benefits, by taking risks people improve their financial stability. It was indicated that 90% of citizens in the United States of America were satisfied with the risks they had taken. They told that those risks helped them to succeed in their life.

However, taking risks is not without its problems. One significant drawback is that there is a big chance of failure and depression that grabs your motivation for life. Furthermore, luck is the main thing in taking risks, which leads you to sacrifice everything. A typical example can be seen in Norway, where scientists did a research on taking risks and indicated that more than 80% of individuals who took major risks in their life failed completely. That failure led them to depression and stress in their life. On account of this, it can be said that taking risks is extremely dangerous for people.

To sum up, whilst taking risks brings huge rewards, there are even significant drawbacks. In my view, only those who manage to handle problems associated with risks, can truly be said to reap its rewards.