Taking risks in both professional and personal life is important. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, self-help authors and motivation speakers have started to promote taking risks in both professional and personal lives. As a result, more and more people have adopted a habit of risk-raking. This essay discusses both the advantages and disadvantages of the habit and ultimately concluded that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

The most compelling advantages of taking risks lies in its ability to create opportunity for both personal and professional growth. In the context of personal development – risks can increase one’s ability adapt, and be prepared for any unpredictable situations. This in turn, builds character and resilience. Moreover, in professional life, risks can lead to break throughs and opportunities that would not be possible otherwise. A case in point is, the famous singer ‘Taylor swift’, who moved to another city at the age of thirteen in order to pursue her music career which led her to become a global sensation, later on.

However, there are certain disadvantages to risk-taking behaviour. One major concern associated with venturing on risky life path is the consequences of failing, especially in professional context. A poor execution of a risky plan can result in impeding a persons career advancement or even in termination. This can eventually lead to financial instability. For instance, if an individual leaves a job they without having an offer in hand from another company will inevitably result in shortage of money until he or she is employed in another company.

In conclusion, there are certain demerits of risky ventures in both personal and professional context. However, these drawbacks can be easily mitigated by only taking strategic risks. Therefore, in my opinion, the positives of risk-taking far outweigh the negatives.