Taking risks in both professional and personal life is important. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate whether taking risks in professional life as well as personal one is beneficial or harmful has become increasingly relevant. Numerous people believe that taking risks in life hold a significant number of advantages compared to its disadvantages, whereas others hold the opposite view. Although there are many drawbacks to this trend, I believe the benefits outweigh them.

On one hand, there are certain disadvantages to taking risks in life. One downside is putting one’s own health or life in danger while trying something new. This leads to many consequences such as addiction, death and other health-related diseases. For instance, a large proportion of young teenagers tend to expose themselves to danger by trying all forms of inhalable substances such as weed, cigarettes, and E-cigarettes. These substances usually lead these teenagers develop addiction, breathing problems, and long-term diseases at a young age. This showcases that not all types of risks result in positive outcomes.

On the other hand, the advantages of risk-taking in life are more prevailing. The most significant benefit is the opportunity to never miss a chance to grow whether at work or in personal life. This is important because in order to evolve as a person, one needs to take risks and jump at every opportunity life provides for him. That can only be done if the person dares to step out of their comfort zone and try new things in life. For instance, at work, one can only elevate their work position and seek a better salary, if they attempt to apply for other greater job offers provided by other companies in the job market. Another important advantage of taking risks is the ability to create meaningful relationships with interesting people, which results in owning a rich and diverse network. For example, people who take the risk to attend conferences, public lectures, or travel to other countries often end up developing long-lasting contacts with the people they meet on these occasions. This, in turn, benefits them later on in life when they are in need of something. With that being said, the fear of taking risks hold several individuals back from growing up and improving their personal as well as financial situation, missing out on life-changing opportunities.

In conclusion, while taking risks in life has negative impacts, benefits, such as upgrading one’s own work status or creating enriching network, are more significant. Therefore, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.