Task 2: In many parts of the world, famous people are regarded as role models and they have an increasing influence on the young. Is this a positive or negative development?

Celebrities are increasingly seen as important role models, and their influence on the younger generation has been growing.while this development can be unfavorable to some extent, I believe that it is largely a change for the worse.

On the one hand, it is evident why some people see expansion of influence as advantageous. One of the primary reasons is that famous people inspire youth to work hard, overcome the boundaries in their path to achieve their goals, and be successful through hard work. Some of them give inspiration by showing their past to motivate younger people and to boost their self-esteem. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo was just an ordinary person back then, but he became one of the most famous futboll players by training over the years and hard work. Another reason is that some celebrities use their fame to charity where places need money like churchs or orphanages. As a result, young people take them as role model, which encourage them to act like similar behavior in the future.

Despite these seemingly convincing arguments, I am still in favor of the idea that growing influence is mostly disadvantageous. First and foremost, constant edited images or regular contact with carefully selected things can cause body image issues, constant comparisons with their lifestyles, or, in some cases, mental health problems. They may feel dissatisfied with their own lives. In addition, the younger generation is likely to imitate unethical or risky behaviors, such as unhealthy lifestyle choices or materialistic or superficial attitudes shown by some influencers. This is because most of them present “lavish lifestyle” rather than showing origin. For instance, many social influencers showcase their glorious lives and filtered photos, hiding their struggle or failures. This creates a distorted reality for young followers and lead them to feel depressed or inadequate when their own lives do not match with famous people’s.

In conclusion, although this trend presents some benefits. I am convinced that it is generally a negative change.