Task 2: In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is irrefutable that technological developments facilitate people’s lives in many aspects. Despite these developments including an agricultural revolution, numerous people are suffering from starvation over the world. This essay will analyse the predominant reasons and put forward some solutions to tackle this issue.

To begin, food waste and overpopulation are major reasons for food scarcity which is one of the biggest problems in the modern world. Firstly, restaurants, cafes and bakeries located in different parts of the world waste a great deal of food almost every day. When the number of customers declines under the average, food waste increased automatically, and portions of meals lead to food waste as well. KFC and Burger King would be good examples of this, as they serve the foods on a menu with potatoes and coke, the vast majority of them are thrown. Besides, demand for food surpasses the available food storage because of the population density in the world. Thus, food security is not ensured because of the given reasons.

Nevertheless, there are some potential solutions at hand to handle this problem. In terms of food waste, food companies should deliver increased food to the needy people who live near the companies. By doing this, starvation could prevent because there are many restaurants even in the same area. Regarding overpopulation, authorities ought to enforce strict regulations about this issue as the population of the world increases in an uncontrolled way severe problems bring about.

In conclusion, the world faces food scarcity despite investments in agriculture. This is mainly because of food waste and overpopulation. If authorities promote sharing increased food with people in need and implement laws to control the growth of the population this problem may resolve in the long run.