Task 2: Many students find it is harder to study at university or college compared to when they were in grade school. Why is this? What are some possible solutions for this problem?

Nowadays, many university and college students find that it is harder for them to study in comparison to when they were at school. This essay will attempt to discuss the contributing factors as well as some possible solution to this issue.

At first, there are many reasons why students struggle with this higher level of education, but it mainly boils down to the fact there aren’t much information about possible change as well as the lack of support in that environment. Regarding the former, it is evident that university or college operates differently from schools, with the most noticeable change is that students have to be responsible for their studies; yet, these changes are not covered in the schools’ curriculum. Without external guidance, many of them would not be informed about the changes and thus may be shocked with the transition phase. In addition, the aforementioned nature of learning in universities and colleges means that it is unlikely that students could be grouped together for a long period of time, limiting students’ ability to make friends, and consequently removed the main motivators and support of students – friends. This in turns will lead to a lower quality of studying at this level of education.

However, there are certain solutions that can be implemented to lessen the severity of this issues. First, schools should educate students about the changes in their curriculum, as the more students are informed, the more they are prepared for the transition, leading to a smoother start to their education journey. In addition, study group should also be encouraged, as the presence of others can be a good motivator for students to focus on their studies. These groups can also serve as a vital emotional and academic support for those who need help, thereby also have a positive effect on easing the learning curve.

Overall, the lack of information and support are the main factor of this phenomenon, but this issue can be solved by informing students at an earlier time and creating support group for students.