Task 2: Science tells us that some activities are healthy while some are unhealthy. Despite knowing this, millions of people over the world continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the reasons for this, and what can be done to solve this problem?

According to investigations, while some activities have beneficial impact on health, others deteriorate. Despite the fact that people are aware of it, they still follow unhealthy habits. This essay will discuss about what reasons cause and what techniques can be solutions.

One of main reasons people pursue unhealthy habits is lack of willpower. Willpower can be temporarily drained, which can make it harder to stand firm the next time. Another reason is acceptance of bad habit as normal by social environment. For example, people think smoking is normal. Mainly because they know some who smoke and live to be 90.Hence, they consider that smoking doesn’t have a great impact to their health that much.

To tackle this problem, people should replace bad habit with another behavior. For instance, instead of abusing drugs, they had better do marathon running. Another solution is ” visualization” that person imagine himself in a situation where he feels tempted by a bad habit. Then, see himself saying no and feel proud or happy for resisting.

Overall, researches show that majority of people tend to continue negative habit even though they are aware of them because of social acceptance those as normal and weak willpower. Visualization and replacing them with other healthy habits can hinder them.