Task 2: Science tells us that some activities are healthy while some are unhealthy. Despite knowing this, millions of people over the world continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the reasons for this, and what can be done to solve this problem?

Unhealthy lifestyles have become a part of human life throughout the years even though they have harmful influence on physical health and mental well-being. This essay will discuss that temptation by friends, the desire to prove ourselves and the low cost of unhealthy products are major factors contributing to unclean activities continuity, and that improving awareness alongside rising taxation can help people achieve a balanced life and long-life span.

On the one hand, there is a tendency among people, especially youngsters that are easily tempted by surrounding influences and prove themselves to be more mature. It is well-documented that adolescence’s ages between 12 to 18 always want to demonstrate that they are mature and independent. Hence, smoking and drinking alcohol will be chosen to verify those thoughts. In order to cope with this issue, they need to discriminate what the right and wrong is in those situations and to improve their awareness, governments along with local authorities need to propagate messages through campaigns and advertisements which are usually shown on TV at prime time every evening in order to remind them of consequences of smoking or being drunk.

On the other hand, the cost of some items such as a pack of cigarettes or a bottle of alcohol is affordable for everyone at all ages to buy. In order to deal with this situation, governments should increase the prices of those products to prevent individuals from purchasing them by raising taxation for shops in all situations. People tend to diminish using them when they get the higher cost and choose to drink the cheaper ones such as mineral water or basically lemonade which can contribute to their physical health. Moreover, banning cigarettes and alcohol is also one of the effective ways in reducing the number of consumption. This essay discussed that a desire to prove the maturation and affordable costs of uncleaned items leads to the amount of consumption that can directly affect both physical and mental health in the negative way.

The status quo can be improved if the government, business and individuals collaborate and accomplish their role comprehensively.