Task 2: Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, participating in sports is widely considered a great way to maintain both physical and mental health. While some say that team sports such as football and basketball have more advantages, others believe that individual sports like tennis or swimming offer greater benefits. From my perspective, I completely agree with the first view.

On the one hand, the benefits of solo sports are varied. To begin with, individual sports can be ideal for those who prefer independence. In those sports no one would teach you what to do or blame you for the failure. It creates an environment where you are the only person who is responsible for both failure and success. This therefore instills a sense of responsibility within a person for their own actions and efforts. Furthermore, solo sport participants often set goals themselves which helps them to be self-reliant. Since there is no pressure from the team or teammates, they motivate themselves to win. As a consequence, this contributes to developing one’s intrinsic motivation and mental health which is crucial when coping with challenges or adversities in life.

On the other hand, engaging in team sports promises a wide range of opportunities. Firstly, it would be attributable to enhanced leadership skills. Those who play the role of leader within a team can learn how to observe others and by doing so, to develop strategies depend on teammates performance and feelings. Thus these sports would be instrumental for those who want to gain leadership jobs such as managers. Secondly, participating in team sports would assist people to develop communication skills. Team sports usually has an environment where people feel a sense of belonging and camaraderie which ensure people become more sociable. For example, in order to gain a high score, all of the team members should communicate successfully by using a series of hand signals.

In conclusion, both sides have solid arguments to support their viewpoints. Upon careful consideration of both arguments, I assert the former is more justifiable as team sports can develop essential skills for human development which solo sports can not.