Task 2 Some people think that secondary/high school students should study literature (novels, plays, poems) of their own country. Others think that it is more important for students to study literature from all over the world. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a popular belief that literature is one of the most important parts of school curriculum; however, there is a disagreement on which type of literature is superior. While local literature is considered as an essential for syllabus, others argue that world literature deserves more attention. Although one’s own literature is necessary in terms of self-awareness, universal literature is diverse, which I believe makes it more compelling.

Local literature gives insights into country’s own history. Stories that have survived hundreds of years ago can help children familiarize themselves with lifestyles of their ancestors. Furthermore, it plays a key role in fostering self-awareness. For example, it enhances storytelling abilities, which can instill a sense of pride in youth behaviour. Therefore, it’s right to say that national literature should be included in secondary and high school curricula.

Nevertheless, global literature does not only focus on one region – it shows a large number of masterpieces around the world. Moreover, the classics are the most fundamental elements of world literature. For instance, the British and Russian classics represent the richness of literature. Learning about world literature can help students explore different nations around the globe. Every piece of writing resembles culture and people’s behaviours.

In conclusion, even though both local and world literature are important, foreign literature should be integrated to a weekly secondary and high school syllabus. If it is not implemented, students can miss out on numerous excellent works of art. Learning traditional stories can be similar to watching local movies, which cannot be adequate way of learning. It is too limited and create barriers in terms of learning.