Task 2: There is a belief that young individuals must attend school full-time until they are at least 18 years old. To what extent do you support or oppose this idea? Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

It is widely believed that teenagers should remain in full-time education until they reach the age of 18. From my own perspective, I totally disagree with this statement because of stress and the lack of problem-solving skills.

The first key rationale is related to stress triggered by the intense curriculum at school. Having more time to study at school means that students are exposed to more frequent tests and exams. If the outcomes cannot meet their expectation, they might feel frustrated and disappointed about their results and themselves. Furthermore, the fear of being criticized by parents and teachers accompanied by the comparison with their more outstanding classmates can even worsen the situation, totally draining their confidence, and physical and mental health. Take Chinese high school students for instance, who are daily under intense pressure to have enough preparation for their crucial university exam. The constant stress of failure and being surpassed by the others led some of them to suffer from anxiety, mental disorder and even commit suicide.

Another justification for my strong stance lies in the lack of problem-solving skills. This can be explained by the fact that when students spend most of their time at school studying and only deal with problems about studying, they won’t have chances to be exposed to societal problems such as how to talk to customers in a coffee shop or properly react to fraud or a kidnapping. Take Vietnamese students for example; several tragic cases in Viet Nam show that some students who were engaged in full-time study only had few opportunities to be trained regarding the skills in solving problems. When they saw an electric shock, they just ran towards the victims and endangered themselves. The repercussion of this is that they don’t have a job when they graduate and can’t succeed.

In conclusion, I firmly disagree with this statement because full-time schooling can create significant pressure and limit students’ opportunities to develop important social communication skills.