Task2 Despite better education, some adults are unable to write and read. What are the disadvantages people are having? What should the governments do to avoid this?

Even though educational opportunities have improved, adult illiteracy remains a problem. While this may cause several disadvantages, I believe that governments can take a number of steps to address this issue effectively.

One major problem of being unable to read and write is a lack of job opportunities. As the world is developing day by day, at least basic educational knowledge is needed in any workplace. This makes hard to find jobs for grown people and forces them to work for insignificant amounts of money or work in labor-intensive sectors. Another significant issue is daily life difficulties. Living with a low literacy level in everyday life can make simple tasks challenging, such as reading signs and filling out forms, or it even can cause health problems after consuming the wrong drugs without reading their labes. In addition to this, the inability to read and write contributes to having some difficulties in messaging and emailing, which are crusially important nowadays.

However, several measures can be implemented to mitigate these problems. First of all, governments should provide free adult education classes or encourage adults who quit education in their early ages to return. This could reduce the unemployment level and help in people’s day-to-day lives. Secondly, making education free for all by building schools, especially in poor areas, might lead to people being educated from childhood and minimize the risk of adult illiteracy.

In conclusion, although illiteracy among adults is increasing, which causes unemployment and daily life issues, these challenges can be effectively addressed. With appropriate government regulations, such as encouraging a return to schools or providing basic education classes and building schools at no cost, a lack of literacy skills can be significantly reduced.