Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today. Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples form your own knowledge or experience.

Many people enjoy watching TV programs in which unprofessional participants compete against each other by showing their talents. I agree that these shows are amusing, but they are not an efficient way to scout potential superstars.

Talent shows are attractive because the audience can watch an ordinary person, instead of a famous star, perform at high quality on the stage. For example, Susan Boyle, who used to be a worker in a small town in the UK, won a prize thanks to her beautiful voice on a TV show. Even if some contestants fail to meet the standard and are eliminated by the judges, the audience is still fond of these parts of the show, which are full of fun and embarrassment.

This kind of show provides future artists with the hope that as long as they stick to their dreams, they have the platform to showcase their abilities to the world. However, I don’t believe talent shows efficiently identify truly talented individuals. Thousands of candidates sign up for the competition at the beginning of the show. In the end, however, only a few names are remembered by the public. In addition, several years later, none of these winners have achieved further success in their respective fields – most of them have even faded away from the public eye.

In conclusion, talent shows allow everyone to exhibit their abilities, but it’s by no means a professional procedure for finding the most capable person in the world. In my view, the major function of these programs still lies in providing pleasant content for TV viewers to pass the time.