Television has had a significant infuence on the culture of many societies. Io what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society?

The media has had a remarkable effect on the growth and advancement of many societies. While the television serves as a powerful medium for entertainment as information, I believe it has done equal harm as good.

People use the television every day for various reasons, whether it is for entertainment, staying informed, or simply passing time. Sitting down to watch 30 minutes of your favorite show can lead to hours and hours of binge-watching the series. Eventually, this can become a habit and result in lack of discipline.

However, the influence the television has on people solely depends on the purpose they turned the tv on for. For instance, a person may be cooking dinner and wants to listen to the news or the weather podcast. Another example is that a person wants to learn more about nature and turns on an educational, informative show, like Nat Geo Wild.

Instead of promoting detrimental behavior, people should busy their mind with helpful activities. For instance, when you come home tired from work, go on a walk in the nature to clear your mind, rather than wasting hours of your life on fruitless visual entertainment. Also, as it is the 21st century, most shows and series are based on books, so chances are high that you can read the same funny or informative movie on paper. Reading has more benefits than watching the television. Most importantly, it doesn’t harm your eyes.

In conclusion, I hold the view that television promotes and strengthens the ones who use it with a good motive. Similarly, it harms those who already foster a weak mindset.