The amount of drinkable water for people is decreasing. Why is this? What can be done?

Nobody would deny that water has always been the most vital and required resource for the survival of mankind. In turn, the rate of potable water is plummeting significantly in almost all parts of the world. Unawareness, inferior infrastructure, as well as unsustainable agricultural practices, seem to be the most outstanding reasons behind this phenomenon. Taking preventive measures are crucially essential to ensure safety of water for future generations.

Among the myriads of factors contributing to water shortages, lack of public awareness about water conservation stands out as a major one. Given that the price for water is too accessible in some parts of the world, people, in the majority of cases take drinkable water for granted, by using excessive amounts for unnecessary stuff. Moreover, since some people do not understand fragile nature of water, they do not always prevent themselves from polluting it, which exacerbates the severity of problem further. A way forward to address this issue could lie with involvement of both authorities and private organizations. Initiatives like media campaigns or school programs would greatly instill a sense of responsibility among individuals, both encouraging them to use as little water as possible and hindering them from contaminating it.

Poor infrastructure would be another reason why water scarcity is becoming an increasingly concerning problem through out the world. In many cities, especially more ancient ones, water distribution systems heavily rely on pipes that are decades old. Over time, these pipes corrode and become more vulnerable, being responsible for leaks of bacteria and harmful substances into drinkable water supplies. Additionally, due to poor quality of these pipes, some fraction of water is squandered even before it reaches its destination. To tackle this issue, I believe, investments in the area of infrastructure ought to be prioritized. With governments allocating sufficient funds to repair and replace unsustainable tubes, water could be delivered more efficiently, even with superior quality.

Last but not least, agriculture could be another factor deteriorating shortage of water. This is mainly because farming is regarded as the largest consumer of water all around the world. In many cities, in developing ones in particular, cultivation is dependent on outdated irrigation systems, which is not only rarely efficient but also it runs the risk of contaminating water bodies by distributing chemicals, such as pesticides and fertilizers, through agricultural runoff. Modern techniques, such as drip and sprinklers systems, should be implemented to preclude pollution and waste of water from taking place.

Having taken all the mentioned factors into account, I concluded that decreasing rates of pure water could be rooted in lack of awareness, infrastructure and agriculture. Addressing this ongoing issue could lie with educational campaigns, upgrading current infrastructure, not to mention turning to contemporary technology for farming.