The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that entertainment on handheld devices, such as video games, can be highly harmful to both individuals and society. While I acknowledge these negative effects, I partly agree that their impact depends on how they are used.

On the one hand, the excessive use of handheld entertainment, lasting for four to six hours a day for leisure activities such as playing games and scrolling social media take up a lot of time that could be spent on self-improvement after a long day. Furthermore, these applications reduce time for social activities such as playing sports or spending time with family members, which are very important for people to have an overall well-being. For example, a mother has to work eight hours a day, then she comes home and scrolls social media for 2 hours and may be relax for 1 hour more. Finally, she only has three hours for her family, taking care of household chores.

On the other hand, entertainment activities may help people strengthen social connections. In today’s society, people do not have much time for meetings, so they use video games as a way to keep in touch. For example, a father and his son can spend an evening together, playing FIFA head-to-head, which brings a lot of joy and strengthens their bond. Additionally, digital games also provide recreation and help people save money. Instead of spending money on costly activities such as going out for coffee, people may choose to play online games as a means of social interaction. As a result, people can save a considerable amount of money each month.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on whether the accessibility of recreational pursuits brings detrimental consequences for individuals and society, I partly agree that activities such as playing digital games bring enormous benefits to people in saving money and keeping in touch. Nevertheless, in real situations, they not only has advantages but also have disadvantages such as a lack of time for social activities and are very time-consuming.