The best way to learn a culture is to learn its language. Do you agree or disagree?

Language is always considered as the key to understand a culture as it carries the history, traditions and, the beliefs of people of that country. This essay will discuss both point of views of the essay with reasonings and will depict the extent to which I agree with it.

Firstly, learning a language is crucial because it carries the traditions and legacy that is hidden beneath it. Understanding language is as significantly important as learning the culture because there are some aspects of culture which can only be understood if you are familiar with the language. For instance, Arabic dramas relating to history and culture of their nation can be watched and appreciated however, it can only be understood if one knows the Arabic language. Furthermore, language allows people to engage with native speakers and find out more about their opinion for the etiquettes and unique way of thinking.

On the other hand, although language is a vital part to learn about culture but that does not stop anyone to explore or be a part of that culture. Nowadays, modern technologies such as documentaries, audio books and visual dramas have become popular in helping people learn cultures of different regions. Language is not an obligation which needs to be fulfilled to be a part of that culture. For example, the Indian culture can be explored and practiced through a variety of other activities such as Indian cuisine, their attire, their documentaries, and music without even speaking Hindi. Additionally, if someone travels across a country and explores it by contacting native people and understanding their emotions and their lifestyle even without acquiring to learn the language.

I partly agree with both causes, as on one hand learning language is a significant factor to know about a culture and get its deeper understanding easily whereas, on other hand; its not a the best way to gain full understanding as there are some other ways which help an individual to grasp the cultural value and traditions.

In conclusion, although learning language is considered a good thing to do in order to get deeper insights of cultural beliefs and value services, however; its not obligatory to be fluent as there are few other techniques which help in understanding the ideas related to it.