The best way to protect the environment is to use local resources, such as food or building materials rather than transporting resources from other places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is ongoing debate about the best way to protect environment, where some people think that usage of local resources is more convenient and efficient way to preserve nature, others believe that import from other regions is more sustainable and provide wider variety of materials and other resources. In my opinion, transporting resources from other countries is more preferable way to reduce ecological damage.

Firstly, usage of local resources help to minimize amount of carbon footprint into air. Reducing amount of fuel that used for transportation of different resources is the best way to cut gas emissions and provide a qualitative protection to atmosphere. Moreover, consumption domestic materials can provide sustainable local development and encourage regional farmers. For instance, this give numerous opportunities to enhance level of local production and market. And additionally, this methods can preserve biodiversity in country, which will encourage consumption of native crops rather than imported ones.

On the other hand, not all regions are self-sufficient and have a chance to develop their own production, there are several regions that lack fertile soils and natural materials. Small countries like Vietnam, Bali and other are dependent from imported materials from other regions. Another thing to highlight is that, large-scale production abroad can be more cost-effective and sustainable that inefficient local production. Furthermore, imported materials can have better quality and variety as they have more resources to produce them, Swiss watches and French fragrances can be good instances to approve this point.

In conclusion, local production and country’s self-development can provide a lot of benefits such reducing carbon emissions in air and preserved biodiversity, importing materials from other regions is more efficient and accessible way to small countries, as they have not that vast amount of resources, as other countries have. And from my point of view, imported materials abroad provide more variety and better quality for certain types of production