The best way to protect the environment is to use local resources, such as food or building materials rather than transporting resources from other places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that utilizing local resources, such as food or building materials, instead of transporting resources from other areas, is optimal for environmental protection. Personally, I partly disagree with this suggestion based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

There are clear benefits when a region depends on its own resources. Transporting goods from other areas, especially distant regions, often requires a large number of vehicles with a lot of energy to operate these transports. This may results in more harmful gases being released into the atmosphere, leading to air pollution. Thus, relying on local products would reduce the resources used for transportation, subsequently alleviating the negative consequences on the environment. For example, small villages in many parts of the world usually grow crops using their own land, thereby minimizing the demand for transporting food and groceries from other areas.

Despite the idealistic nature of using local resources, it would not be practical in the current conditions. In fact, resources in local areas, especially disadvantaged, remote regions are not always sustainable or environmentally-friendly. Specifically, the residents may still have to depend largely on unrenewable energy sources for electricity or chemicals to protect plants. These practices would pose threats to the environment, such as soil degradation resulting from pesticide overuse. Instead, local areas could benefit more from resources transported from developed urban areas in the long run.

In conclusion, while utilizing local goods is beneficial to the environment as it reduces contaminated gases from transports, I believe that it is not the best solution to environmental problems regarding the limited sustainable practices in many local areas.