The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate parents about good parenting skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the rising prevalence of youth crimes in some countries is an ongoing urgent issue. It is sometimes asserted that parents should be equipped with fundamental child-rearing skills. While I completely agree with this assertion, I am of the opinion that other ways like promulgating strict rules are more preventive and effective to address the root of this dilemma.

On the one hand, there are two compelling reasons why educating parental skills is a proactive approach to mitigating juvenile delinquency. The foremost one is the possibility of preventing the formation of criminal ideology early on. By providing youngsters with the right orientation, parents can not only cultivate adequately-educated children but also deter them from the temptation to commit a crime. Another significant reason is that it is indispensable for parents to have proficiency in nurturing skills that are learnable and achievable. There are various courses associated with child-rearing that aim to train those who want to develop their nurturing capabilities. For instance, if parents put enough effort into honing their skills, children will receive an all-round education and a role model for them to follow. This may even have a ripple effect on others around them to live without crime.

However, I am firmly of the opinion that education for parents with parental skills is not the best solution to reduce youth crime rate. This form of education is resource-incentive and may not be viable in hectic life, and therefore has far less preventive value, compared to other stronger solutions. For example, the government should promulgate severe punishment such as longer imprisonment in a way to deprive them of criminal acts. This method lays the groundwork for a strong and long-lasting impact on the reduction of youth crime.

In brief, I firmly believe that although training parental skills is the essential way to alleviate this urgent problem, it is not the best solution, as there are more preventive and sustainable measures such as stricter punishments for/on youth offenders