The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate parents about good parenting skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that the rate of teenage crimes is related to their parental skills. In this essay, I am elaborating on reasons why parents’ education and certain skills are significant in preventing youths from committing crimes.

On the one hand, children mainly learn from their parents and imitate their behaviours. Moreover, if parents have proper upbringing and communication skills, children grow up to be more ethical and responsible. In educated families, children can distinguish right from wrong from an early age. As a result, this reduces their likelihood of committing crimes as they realise the social and legal consequences.

On the other hand, if they are taught parenting skills, parents can better monitor their children’s behaviours and detect problems early. In addition, parents can take more appropriate measures when they observe their child’s aggressive behaviour or spending time with suspicious friends. Consequently, this ensures that youngsters are less likely to turn to crime and keeps them away from harmful environments.

Without chalking off all the above mentioned, the influence of society and the environment is also undeniable. The criminal tendencies of young people do not depend solely on parental upbringing. They are also influenced by their friends, social media, economic situation, and the environment they live in. Thus, educating parents alone cannot solve these problems.

In conclusion, while society and other factors contribute to juvenile crimes, training parents is always the best method to decrease criminal activity.