The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that increasing the cost of gasoline is the best method to address the globe’s environmental issues. In this essay, however, I will change this school of thought.

Granted, one might argue that increasing the prices of fuel could help solve environmental problems. This is predicated on the assumption that such a measure would force some people, especially money-conscious ones, to give up their private vehicles for public transport. This, according to this theory, ultimately results in less fuel being consumed and lower levels of toxic gases being released into the air. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because the amount of greenhouse gases emitted by personal vehicles is negligible, compared to that of industrial plants or even cow farts. This very fact renders the effects of increasing the price of petrol on the environment insignificant.

To add further credence to my assertion, I note the root cause of the most serious environmental issues: our energy-hungry lifestyles. For example, the accelerated depletion of natural resources that are used to produce electricity and power machines can be attributed to the insatiable thirst for energy of mankind. By the very same token, global warming and pollution, arguably the two most severe environmental problems, are the dreadful knock-on effects stemming from humans excessively consuming energy. Thus, the key to solving the world’s environmental problems is to find alternative sources of energy. This could be done by exploiting solar, wind, and tidal power, all of which are unlimited and clean sources of energy that are largely underdeveloped.

In conclusion, it is a mistake to assume that increasing the price of fuel is the best way to alleviate problems posed to the environment because the key to solving these issues is to develop renewable energy.