The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that governments would be better to impose laws to control people’s diet and food choices, while others believe that it is right to choose food. Personally I support the latter thinking, because people have the freedom to choose their food.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why people hold a belief that people’s diet and food selections should be regulated. The first reason is improving general well-being. This is because it assists people to reduce fast food consumption as well as sugar intake, which are the primary factors for chronic diseases, such as diabetes, obesity and heart stroke. As a result, the average life expectancy rate of people will increase and the rate of people dying from fast food will decrease, which boosts economic development. Another reason is saving budget. For example, some healthy foods like vegetables, nutritional cereals are cheaper than fat foods. Consequently, governments can save a bunch of money, which they can use to allocate to more priorities such as pursuing hobbies, passions, and improving knowledge.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that people have the freedom to choose their food for several reasons. Firstly, it is absurd and virtually impossible to record. One major contributing to this is the lack of monetary and human resources to fulfill this task. As a result, governments will waste time and human resources on things that are not possible like controlling people’s diet and food choices. The second reason for this is that choosing food is a human right. Food is a fundamental human right, much like air and water, so people have a right to do whatever they want, as long as their actions are not illegal or harmful to others. As such, people will be happier because they can do what they want and eat what they love instead of being controlled by governments.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I maintain people have freedom in choosing their food and nutrients.