The best way to solve world's environmental problem is increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion

Some people argue that increasing the cost of fuel would be the best option in dealing with the world’s environmental problems. While I acknowledge the intention behind this idea, I strongly do not believe that increasing the price is the best possible option.

The biggest reason behind my disagreement about this suggestion is my previous experiences about increased costs. To explain, in Turkey the government constantly increases the prices of fuel, housing, cigarettes and many other things; however such actions have never stopped smokers to smoke or car drivers to drive their cars. Therefore, I believe that increasing fuel prices not only solve nothing about the environment problems but also will turn the societies against the governments.

In addition to not fixing any environmental issues, such actions prevent societies from realizing the ultimate truth behind pollution; unawareness. In order to succeed in decreasing environment related problems, the governments need to focus on the source of these problems. For example, projects that improve responsibility, awareness and sensitivity could be organized to deal with such problems. Because a problem cannot be fixed if you don’t fix it from its source.

To conclude, I strongly disagree with the idea that increasing fuel costs will decrease environmental problems. Due to my personal experiences and beliefs such actions would be insufficient to prevent environmental problems.