The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

While I believe that team sports are highly effective in developing cooperation, I do not think that it is the best way to foster teamwork skills.

On the one hand, it is believed that team activities play a crucial role in children’s sense of belonging and they teach them to communicate effectively and cooperate with others. School tournaments can be a great case in point, as they allow children to share responsibility, rely on teammates and work towards a common goal. As a result, this clearly shows how team sports foster cooperation skills.

However, as teambuilding can be enhanced not only during collaborative sports, there are several more suitable ways to facilitate learning to cooperate with others. For instance, group projects encourage children to build mutual trust and encourage discipline, which helps them to cooperate effectively. Therefore, while team sports are beneficial, other collaborative activities can be equally effective in teaching cooperation.

Having looked at both sides, although team sports play a significant role in developing cooperation skills, they are not the only effective method, and other collaborative activities can also help children learn to work together.