The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

The fertility in major industrial countries is excepted to begin to decrease over the coming 5 decades, and by 2030 more than one third of the population will be aged 65 or over. If this really happens, there will be some serious problems. To solve this governments can do several things.

One of the main problems is shortage of workers, as fewer young workers will be entering to workforce. This can lead to lower taxes and economical problems to authorities. In addition, healthcare system will have more pressure as older people require more health attention because in this period aged people can face problems with heart like stroke. Furthermore, it may become to increase retirment age so that people can stay in workforce longer.

To address this problems governments can give financial support such as parents allowance and food for children to stimulate people to have more children. In addition,to reduce pressure on healthcare system , governments can add medical trainings for older people and include new technologies , which help to resist with heart problems. Another effective method is raising the retirement age,which allow to older individual stay in workforce longer and reduce pressure from pension system. Moreover, authorities can solve the problem with shortage workers with inviting skilled immigrant workers in their country.

In conclusion, decreasing the birth rate and population aging can lead to heavy problems. However, by supporting families, inviting immigrants, rising the retirement age and adding changes in healthcare system we can reduce the negative impact of this