The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

Demographic statistics suggests that in 50 years the natality rate will be falling dramatically. Therefore, there will be more elderly people than now. In fact, people of 65 and more will be a large percentage of the population in developed countries. These projections are likely to change the workforce and other spheres of society. However, I believe there are factors to take into consideration in order to mitigate the effects of lower natality rates and aging.

To begin with, it is necessary to describe a few of the effects of these phenomena on society. Some studies point out that the workforce will be reconfigured in the nearly future, especially in European countries. One example of this is the necessity of migration to cover general jobs, such as plumbing or agricultural fields. A second effect will be the legislation changes concerning to retirement policies. In fact, it is known that some countries such as Sweden or Germany have been discussing this matter since at least a decade ago. Hence, the consequences of a low birth rate and aging in rich countries will be relevant matters of concern much more than we think.

However, while the effects of this change on society are already known, we must keep in consideration the actions that we could take in order to mitigate this externalities. Different policy papers recommends that Governments must consider design incentives, especially economics, to improve the natality rate as soon as possible. For instance, in Latin American countries with the same problem, the State is giving a monetary incentive when a woman gives birth a child. In the same way, Governments had changed the age of retirement in order to extend the work lifetime. This policy measures should be taken immediately in order to prevent futures negatives consequences.

In conclusion, a large number of research has shown what the future is like to be in terms of population. Undoubtedly, If Governments considered the evidence on this matter, the consequences of this could be sorted and perhaps in a beneficial way for our countries.