The care of old people is a growing problem. Some say the government should care for old people. Others say that it is the family's responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of taking care of aged people has ignited a debate in recent times. While some individuals believe that it is the government’s responsibility, others claim that families should look after the elderly.

To begin with, the state support is important for retired individuals who don’t have relatives to provide them with a decent standard of living. For example, in Norway, the government provides care services for the elderly, who can be placed in nursing homes with round-the-clock care or receive care services at home. However, it does not naturally follow that all individuals in their later years should rely only on the government because it can be a huge strain for the country’s budget. For example, because of the high expenditure on a large number of elderly people, young individuals will have to pay huge taxes.

It is precisely for this reason that if vulnerable old people have a family, their members should be responsible for their comfortable life. Additionally, having relatives close by is essential for mental well-being of elderly individuals as it helps them to feel emotional support and not to feel lonely. Nevertheless, it can be impossible for poor relatives to provide vital things such as food and medical treatment, so it is the government’s duty to pay benefits to aged people who are in need.

In conclusion, although sometimes the help of the government sometime is important, the system shouldn’t be abused. The solution to the problem should be combined, both the state and relatives should be involved in caring for the elderly because of the various circumstances.