The crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Majority of crimes committed in urban areas compared to the ruler areas in most countries.

One of the primary reasons for high crime rates in urban areas is population destiny. Cities are home to large numbers of people nowadays. There are dozens of job opportunities that make urban areas more crowded. On the other hand more job opportunities cause more population coming from other countries that there is a lack of job available. In this case all the reasons cause lack of resources and people might be poorer. Poverty leads people to commit robbery and crimes. In addition, in villages most of the people know each other, including their parents and relatives. That’s why people who live in rural areas are unlikely to commit crimes.

To reduce the crime rates, governments and communities have to provide safety. Governments should increase the penalty for criminals. They have to construct more cameras especially in the crowded areas of the city, homes and streets as well. Additionally they have to reduce unemployed people and give them more job opportunities that can provide them with money and criminals will not need to rob. Also if the individuals love each other and value the community that they live in.

In conclusion, the higher crime rate in urban areas stems from factors like population density, socio-economic and increase of jobless people. If the government and people do various things to reduce crime rates, urban areas might be a better and safer place to live.