The crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

It is thought that the crime rate in urban centres is more common than that of in rural areas. Although for cities with better living standards and strict ethical rules this issue may sound hypocritical, high crime rate remains a contentious question. This essay will examine various reasons that contribute to this problem, before offering two viable solutions.

There are two reasons for that, and in my point of view, part of the explanation lies in the high cost of life, inflation and economic freefall. People in urban centres are prone to be more vulnerable to financial pressure and law enforcement faces budget constraints leading to reduced police absence, which can contribute to a life of crime. In rural areas, by contrast, communities are usually smaller, correspondingly, there is less spending on people’s lives. A further explanation relies on social factors. An encouragement from the government about employment opportunities in cities and providing jobs for people from foreign countries or from sparsely populated areas. However, those often lack knowledge about laws in the site and a sense of responsibility towards others, so it often results in illegal activities.

To alleviate high criminal rates in urban areas, comprehensive approaches are needed. One viable measure is that the government should review the condition of people from all walks of life and introduce equal opportunities for better life. If citizens were able to live without anxiety from the high cost of accommodation or raising costs of daily needs, they wouldn’t seek alternative means of survival. The second possible solution is to raise awareness about the seriousness of crime life and certain laws in the area. I personally think that many people – especially youth – aren’t aware of the worst case scenarios in criminality that may happen to them. The government and society should introduce to people the importance of law system and conduct briefings at school for the younger generation.

In conclusion, high rates of criminality in urban areas can be attributed to economic pressure and lack of proper knowledge about laws. To mitigate this problem, government should focus on providing opportunities for citizens and raise awareness about the country’s laws.