The death penalty is a contentious issue in many states and countries around the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals believe that execution is appropriate in terms of the punishment of criminals while others disagree. Despite some advantages of death sentence i am inclined to think that its drawbacks are far more concerning.

It is initially important to consider the benefits of death penalty. First and foremost, it can reduce the proportion of crime in particular areas. Implementing death penalty instead of confinement, can prevent potential crimes for threat of execution. As the result criminals may not commit crime which contributes to peaceful atmosphere among the public. Secondly death sentence is more cost effective than confinement. Government can benefit from execution as authority shouldn’t provide specific place and meet the need of criminals untill their death. For example one particular country provide specific amount of money for jail to supply prisoners with food and place. Hence, if public and authority get benefits from death penalty, then, on the whole, it seems it is a positive development.

Despite the reasons presented, i think that execution does significantly more harm than good. The one drawback that widespread among people is executing innocent people. There is a possibility of killing people who don’t commit a crime. If innocent person sentenced and executed, his case would be closed. Another harm of death sentence is cruelty. Execution sets apart from confinement with not offering second chance to prisoners even if they felt sorry. Execution creates fear rather than regret which is not appropriate to our moral principle.

In short, my own conviction is that the negatives of death penalty such as cruelty and executing innocent people is likely to bring about to have more serious implications than any minor advantages.