The differences between countries are becoming less obvious. Today, people everywhere watch the same movies, follow the same fashion, and see the same brands, advertisements, and TV shows. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent years have witnessed an unprecedented growth of integration and globalization trends among countries. Hence, countries share more and more similarities, specifically people everywhere enjoying the same types of entertainment alongside selecting the identical brands and fashion styles. Although this trend can become disadvantageous to some extent, I suppose that its advantages outweigh its shortcomings.

Admittedly, improper integration does contribute to the identity loss of the nations. Undeniably, people are inclined to follow the general social standards, and that is not unscrupulous per se. However, the chief point is that when they exchange their own identity to the standardized implications in order to fit well into the society. Supposing that, they may no longer hold their unique position in the society as they already lost their identity to distinguish them from others. Similarly, if a country merely follows the tendencies of the contemporary society but not have its own speech, it may gradually become dependent on the global prospects but not its own developments.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned demerit, I hold the belief that the advantages are more substantial. The first reason is that people may no longer experience the culture shock when traveling to another countries. This could be best exemplified by the fact that this phenomenon usually occurs when foreign visitors are not accustomed to the host countries’ customs and social norms, thereby being overwhelmed by the differences. Nonetheless, when people worldwide follow the same rules and social standards, there may be no longer misbehaviors in the public or accidental disrespect to the nations’ identity due to the cultural differences. But the most pivotal aspect is that when the cultural barriers become less explicit, the bonds between countries can be more strengthened as a result of increasing reunification and unity. Thus, negotiations, trading campaigns and diplomatic relations formation can become more effortless, leading to more mutual relationships allowing both countries to gain benefits from each other.

To summarize, I am of the opinion that increasing similarity between countries in today’s era can bring about positive effects for both the governments and residents albeit its potential cultural loss of misinterpretation towards the essence of worldwide reunification.