THE DIGITAL AGE HAS BROUGHT AN EXPLOSION OF INFORMATION, MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO DISCERN TRUTH FROM FALSEHOOD. WHY IS THIS HAPPENING? AND WHAT CAN BE DONE ABOUT IT?

It is argued that the digital revolution provide a huge of information, making it challenging to perceived which is true or falsehood. In this essay, I would evaluate some of the reasons leading to this problem before proposing some effective solutiond to handle its complication.

One the one hand, in order to distinguish true or false information on the Internet, the government plays an important role in verifying that kind of information. Unfortuately, with the explosion of informaton and a variety methods of sharing inaccurate contents nowadays, it is more and more struglling for the government to control all types of information. As a result, citizens would find it challenging to discern what is true in the sea of misinformation, taking away the trust in what shown on the Internet.

Despite the severity of such an issue, the coaliation between the government and all Internet users could effectively stop the spread of misinformation online. Regarding to Internet users, they could inhibit the misinformation by reporting the content which is not true and have the negative effect could be harmful for all readers. Therefore, the government and cybersecurity need to create illegal online newspaper websites to inform the true knowledge. Thus, with someone intentionally spreaded the misinformation would be punished by the government such as: pay a fine, or going to jail. For example, in the Covid-19 pandemic, some cases of false information on the social media were paid a fine a punishment.

In conclusion, the explosion of content has been become the globally prelevant issuse and is belived to have occured due to a variety methods of sharing and freedom in exchanging opinions on the social platforms. However, this problem could be tackled by the government’s legal punishment in term of controlling public posts on social media and in newspapers.