The education of young people is the main priority in countries around the world. Some people believe that educating adults who cannot read or write is essential for the society and more funding should be made available for it. Do you agree or disagree?

In many countries across the globe education of young people is top priority. Some people are convinced that teaching illiterate adults is crucial for society and it should have access to more funding opportunities, which I do agree with, believing that more money should be available for funding educational programmes aimed at teaching adults to read and write in order to help them gain social and financial independence through acquiring literacy.

Generally, teaching young people is in the spotlight of many educational institutions and the variety of programmes offered allows creating a life-long educational plan, which meets the new trend of continuous education. What is more, many international organisations such as the UN claim providing all young people with access to education as their goal, thus ensuring that regardless of their origin or financial status, young people could acquire all the basic skills, necessary for living in the civilized society, such as reading, writing and counting, before becoming adults. As a result, the rate of literacy among the young is rising all across the globe as well as the rate of their independence and exposure to all kinds of social interactions.

However, I believe that not enough funding is given to combatting illiteracy among the adults, and they should be provided with educational programmes from international organisations including the UN, aimed at teaching reading and writing, in order to make those in need independent from their literate children and help them show an example to the younger generations of how one reads and writes. Consequently, the adults who did not gain these skills and could not leave their providers, would be able to flee the potentially dangerous environment or simply start their own family, which would be a separate unit financially and socially. Furthermore, literate adults would have an opportunity to encourage their children’s education and teach them some important skills on their own with the help of books.

While overall, the main priority around the world is educating the young people, I strongly believe that the more we fund the education of illiterate adults, the better their life becomes after acquiring the new skills and through independence, then their literacy would also result in raising more literate children.