The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets.Some people think that it is a waste of money and the government should spend more money on addressing the problems of the public.To what extent do you agree?

A large sum of money is being spent on exploring life on other planets apart from the Earth. While some opponents believe that is a complete waste of time, on the grounds that money should be invested to combat the real problems of the people. I disagree with the former view and I take the stance that authorities should invest in both space and our planet.

Some people argue that money that is spent on space exploration does not worth it. However, in the growing number of population, the demand for everyday product rises substantially. In this way, farmers cut down trees to make way for growing plants. Over time, overuse of the land may lead to a low fertility of soil, because many farmers plant crops interruptedly. As soil fertility is low, farmers cannot meet the demand to provide people with organic food. As a result, the need to alter the human habitat still should be remained in scientists’ mind.

Additionally, excisting issues on the Earth should not be ignored. Climate change caused by early deforestation results in the low fertility, and this problem needs other measures, such as minerals. Experts in this field can use mineral brought from other planets, namely from the Moon. Even though this is expensive affair to import minerals from the Moon, it can completely change the current state of soil. Subsequently, farmers can try a practice called crop rotation, annualy altering the type of crop grown in the yield to prevent further infertility of farmland. Hence, I think, the other planets’ role is invaluable in human’s life, helping to survive from potential difficulties.

In conclusion, although it might seem unwise to allocate money on space expedition, I hold the view that it is important to do it equally, on the Earth and on other different planets, because it might be useful in terms of soil fertility.