The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Violent crimes have always been concerned as a serious problem by the whole society. Consequently, some people argue that, to decrease the rate of violent crimes, the government should implement strict policies on limiting the violent content in entertainment products, such as movies and TV shows. However, I strongly disagree this idea and I will elaborate on my position in this essay.

Instead of putting the government resource on monitoring entertainment field, more efforts should be taken on destroying the soil where violence is generated. First, as violence is usually passed down through generations, government should pay more attention to support the children from violent family. For example, more social workers should be hired to check these children’s situations regularly and psychological therapies should be provided for the children to identify their trauma by the violence and help them recover from it. Second, law enforcement agencies should sentence violent criminals more serious. Since large number of violent crimes are committed by repeated offenders, their sentence should be long enough to set a sign as deterrence. What’s more, probation on these criminals should be considered more cautiously.

In conclusion, while the call to reduce violence in movies and TV shows to decrease violence in society seems feasible, it will not achieve the goal because violence does not derive from the effect of pop culture. On the contrary, constant investment in supporting vulnerable children and imposing strict laws are more plausible solutions.