The government should encourage people to use electric cars. What are the advantages and disadvantages of electric cars?

Some think that people should be encouraged to employ electric vehicles. This can benefit the environment and humanity by reducing harmful emission, although batteries used in these cars are expensive. In my view, electric cars have plenty of positives.

One of the benefits of electric cars is that they are less harmful to the environment. As batteries are the main source of energy for functioning, electric vehicles do not emit greenhouse gases. Therefore, air pollution is reduced because there are fewer dangerous gases in the atmosphere. For example, the air quality of an area in England, where the government tested the positive impact of electric cars, significantly increased after a few weeks. In addition, electric cars also have health benefits for humans as less poisonous gases are emitted into the air. For instance, in recent years, the number of people suffering from respiratory diseases dropped in London because electric vehicles are entering the industry.

On the other hand, the high costs of electric batteries can negatively affect the production of electric cars. Electric batteries are mostly made of rare materials which are found in deep layers of the earth, so battery prices will increase as these essential materials become harder to find. To give an example, some EV companies had to shut down in Myanmar and Thailand as the costs of the production of electric batteries dramatically rose. Moreover, scientists around the world have also warned that major materials required to produce electric batteries will disappear from the planet in the following years.

In conclusion, electric cars are advantageous for the environment and humans because they produce no greenhouse gas despite the high costs of producing the batteries. The overall benefits of electric cars for the planet are greater than the drawbacks.