The government should stop supporting public libraries because most information is available online. Do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, some people argue that the authorities should stop subsidizing public libraries due to the availability of data online. I totally disagree with this statement because libraries serve as a place for preservation of valuable manuscripts and are important public spaces for cultural festivals.

First and foremost, most of the libraries are storages of the old written books, which are a part of world heritage. Their value is priceless, thus there is no possibility to replace them. Moreover, librarians are also specialists of preservation, maintaining fragile materials in good conditions. As a result, the decrease in financing can pose a serious challenge for the future of materials of the historical importance. For instance, Ukraine noticed the loss of hundreds rare printed materials due to the closing of several libraries in small towns. Additionally, workers didn’t make digital versions regarding the lack of required tools. Consequently, historians cannot effectively reflect the past of local communities without local newspapers.

Even though there are available private spaces for different festivals, libraries offer affordable and comfortable places. It is needless to say that the role of libraries slightly switched from a studying place to a tolerant place for cultural purposes. Furthermore, during the revitalization of major urban areas, architects consider a library a building for networking and creative purposes. For example, modern ones in Spain became popular touristic attractions by eccentric design and the variety of cultural events. Furthermore, they assist in organizing chess tournaments, supporting young auspicious players in their starting. Consequently, publicity emphasized their crucial role in fostering cultural, social, and sport aspects of life.

In conclusion, libraries still serve as a unique place for preservation of old written sources as well as accessible place for networking and variety of festivals. However, they cannot functionate like in the past, thus the interest in physical books has plummeted since the introduction of e-books.