THE HIGH COST OF UNIVERSITY EDUCATION IS A CONCERN FOR STUDENTS AND THEIR FAMILIES. WHAT PROBLEM DO THIS CAUSES FOR STUDENTS AND SOLUTIONS TO HELP THIS HIGH COST MORE AFFORDABLE.

In recent years, most universities have decided to increase the tuition fee leading to an anxiety of students and their families. In addition, this essay outline the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon before proposing some viable solutions to alleviate it.

On the one hand, financial burden is one of the majority causes of the concern of students and their families. Due to the high university tuition fee, enrolments and their close people obviously force to spend more or borrow money to cover expenses, resulting in the significant financial pressure. This can be illustrated by the case of Vietnam or China where governments have just increased the university tuition fee by 2% or 3%. Additionally, the future career of students is also attributed to this issue. Because of the high cost of university education, some enrolments wonder whether they invested a large amount of money in studying university is worthy or not, especially in a highly competitive job market nowadays. This can be seen in China, Singapore and Vietnam which have a really high and competitive job market, leading to nearly 10% students graduating from universities become unemployees.

On the other hand, headmasters of universities also need to have some solution to deal with it, one of them is reducing other university costs. Some universities need to look for ways to lower living expenses, such as providing affordable housing or offering discounts on textbooks ans study materials. This measure is used in most universities in Thailand and Singapore where headmasters provide dormitories for students. Finally, some universities also provide part-time job programmes for students. This can become an opportunity for them to work and gain many life-experiences as well as helping them to earn more money. This way is used in China and Australia where students can apply to some companies to work as normal assistants or workers.

In conclusion, the high university cost can make some enrolments and their families worried because of the financial burden and the future career of students. Therefore, some feasible solutions are reducing the other university costs and provide part-time job can make them feel less stressed than ever.