The increasing frequency of satellite launches and space debris is becoming a threat to the Earth. What are the main causes? What measures can be taken to address this?

Space has the potential to help the world solve some of its greatest challenges ranging from the impacts of the climate crisis to economic disparity. But this increase may be disruptive, because it could lead to more space debris. Stricter regulations and innovative debris tracking and removal technologies must be developed and implemented.

The ability to access space and with advanced infrastructure satellite technology has evolved significantly in recent years, bringing with it greater opportunities to utilize space for improving life on Earth. A number of satellites have been launched to provide internet access. In addition, earth observation has become central to addressing global challenges like water scarcity, natural disasters, and agro-ecological research, even the database provided by satellites used for national security and military purposes.

The rise of the commercial space industry is opening up new possibilities for the space industry, but there are potential environmental threats such as the huge amount of space debris. According to space experts, more than 14,000 satellites surround the orbit around the Earth, including alongside those are about 120 million pieces of broken bits of satellite and junk from space stations. To combat this problem, it is essential to implement strict international regulations. It would be one centralised system which should mandate space traffic coordination in order to avoid collisions and regulate the options to safely remove broken satellites and debris from it.

In conclusion, the increasing amount of space debris in the atmosphere rapidly is driven by the growing number of satellites and inadequate disposal practices. Addressing this issue requires the enforcement of stricter international regulations and the development of innovative debris removal technologies. By taking these steps, we can ensure the sustainable use of space for future generations.