The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the population boom, the problem of housing has increased, especially in big cities, causing many social consequences. Some individuals contend that the government is the one to solve these issues. From my perspective, I totally agree with the above-mentioned viewpoint. This essay will address the reasons for my views as follows.

On the one hand, this issue causes some problems influenced by social consequences. Firstly, the number of residents coming to live in big cities is increasing, where there is a stable market that helps people earn extra income or has a good environment to study, causing increased prices of houses. The rising cost of housing has made it harder for middle and lower-income classes to purchase a house in urban areas, which could lead to rising criminal activity and a plummet in the quality of houses. Second, with increased housing demand, there could be some environmental impacts. When building accommodation for residents, a lot of land is needed, and the number of trees decreases due to cutting down, resulting in severe pollution. For instance, air quality in Hanoi city in Vietnam is regularly at alarming levels, causing a number of health problems.

Therefore, to solve the housing problem, the government can come up with a number of measures. The government could offer some salary benefits, increase income for people, which would help people purchase houses, especially in urban areas where prices are high. For example, in Vietnam, the government has a number of policies to increase people’s incomes to help them afford housing, which has reduced the homeless rate. Moreover, having housing could decrease the crime rate in big cities. Additionally, the government could plan to suit the needs of the people, causing less impact on the environment and health.

In conclusion, there are a number of issues that can impact society, and the government will be the ones to solve them.