The increasing popularity of virtual reality and augmented reality technologies has led some to believe that physical travel will become obsolete in the future. Others argue that experiencing different cultures firsthand remains essential for personal growth and understanding. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue about whether the rise of virtual reality technology will make physical travel necessary or not. Others believe that it is essential for human development to experience the real world.

People think that virtual reality will take over physical travel in the not too distant future, mostly because one day, virtual reality will be able to not only simulate the touch of items, it will also be able to simulate the smell and taste of the location travelled to. This in turn may allow people to experience foreign cuisine and climate without leaving the comfort of their own home. This could be advantagous and cost-efficient to disabled people who aren’t to travel abroad. It could open a whole new world for them.

Other people have stated that physical travelling is essential for human development. First of all, travelling physically can improve the economy of poor cities. A lot of people, ranging from tour guides to souvenir shops, benefit from visitors and run their buisiness as a living based on travellers being there. As a result, if virtual reality became the norm, a lot of people could be unemployed and may be unable to put food on the table.

To my mind, virtual reality can’t take over travelling physically because the experience and poeple met during the trip would be impossible to replicate. The memories of the trip is not only built by the scenery and cuisine, the difficulties during the trip are also part and parcel of the whole experience.