The increasing reliance on social media for news consumption has led to a decline in critical thinking skills among young adults. What are the reasons for this trend, and what solutions can be implemented to promote media literacy and responsible online engagement?

Amidst technological progress the reliance on social applications for news has surged substantially, resultung in a decrease of a cognitive development, including the deterioration of critical thinking among youth. The core reason of this negative trend is that a vast number of people have become complacent about online things, believing in every source of provided information. The high-effective solution is to spread media litercy and stimulate more discerning news consumption habits.

The root cause for this phenomen is that online platforms, that have streamlined a myriad of our routine processses, have advanced significantly, which led to the lazyness. That is to say, although, digital tools suggest unparalleled benefits, unfortunately, humans started neglecting crucial steps such as verifying a source of provided data and checking the websites’ security. Subsequently, telecommunication devices have subtedly hindered the cultivation of critical thinking. One clear example is that a recent research has illustrated a clear correlation between the advancement in digital applications and an instant decline of critica thinking ability in youngsters.

However, the enforcement of effective regulations, that are supposed to function together in tandem, are capable of detering the phenomen. To be specific, it is essential to promote media literacy by explaining feasible consequences of this trend among young adults. In other words, the governmet ought to encourage lectures regarding online literacy in educational institutions such as schools and universities. Moreover, active volunteer-organizations can run an account in several social media platforms that are aimed to inform and guide the young generation in an enertaining way, capturing as more as possible people. For instance, the voluntary organization – UNISEF have ran several campaigns regarding the awareness of appropriate usage of communication tools along with special lectures, have been arranged in educational institutions.

Taking all points into account, the arised concerns regarding the growing reliance on social media, have stimulated an intense debate ampng experts forcing them to introduce solution. The solution which was offered by the group of specialists is to promote social media literacy through telecommunication platforms and lectures in educational institutions.